Thursday, June 16, 2022
HomeSportsCWG 2022: 37 Indian medals will be presented in athletics, apart from...

CWG 2022: 37 Indian medals will be presented in athletics, apart from Neeraj Chopra, these big names will be placed

New Delhi: The Athletics Federation of India (AFI) has announced India’s 37-member athletics team for the Commonwealth Games. It will be led by Olympic gold medalist javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra. The 37-member squad, selected by the AFI’s selection committee, has 18 women players, including star runners Hima Das and Dutee Chand. India got one gold, one silver and one bronze in the athletics event of the 2018 Commonwealth Games. Gold was won by Neeraj Chopra only.
Neeraj Chopra: Neeraj Chopra threw the javelin farther than the Olympics, broke the national record, still missed the gold medal
The selectors have also selected the men’s 4x400m relay team. Avinash Sable, who recently broke his 3000m steeplechase national record for the eighth time, and Jyoti Yaraji, who broke his own 100m national record twice last month, also found a place in the team. Aishwarya Babu, who broke her own national record in triple jump with an effort of 14.14m at the recent National Inter-State Championships in Chennai, is also part of the team.

National record holder Amlan Borgohain in the 200m failed to make it to the team as he failed to achieve the Commonwealth Games qualifying level set by the AFI. Some of the selected players, however, will have to regain their form and fitness ahead of the Birmingham Games. Seema Poonia, a veteran discus thrower, has been given a chance to participate in the Commonwealth Games for the fifth time in view of her past performance. They must achieve the qualifying level set by the AFI during the competition in the US.
Dr. Tripti will illuminate the name of Ghazipur in Korea, will participate in the World Master Athletics Championship
Poonia has won medals in Commonwealth Games four times so far. Poonia did not participate in the National Inter-State Senior Championships from June 10 to 14, the qualifying event for selection in the Commonwealth Games. Three Indians will compete in the men’s javelin throw event for the Birmingham Games. In this event, Chopra along with DP Manu and Rohit Yadav will present the challenge for India. The Games will be held from July 28 to August 8.

The team is as follows:

Male: Avinash Sable (3000m steeplechase), Nitender Rawat (marathon), M Sreeshankar and Mohammad Anees Yahia (long jump), Abdullah Abubakar, Praveen Chitravel and Eldose Paul (triplechase), Tejinderpal Singh Toor (shot throw); Neeraj Chopra, DP Manu and Rohit Yadav (javelin throw), Sandeep Kumar and Amit Khatri (walking); Amoz Jacob, Noah Nirmal Tom, Arokia Rajeev, Mohammad Ajmal, Nagnathan Pandy and Rajesh Ramesh (4x400m relay).

woman: S Dhanalakshmi (100m and 4x100m relay), Jyoti Yaraji (100m hurdles), Aishwarya B (long jump and triple jump) and Ancy Sojan (long jump), Manpreet Kaur (shot throw), Navjit Kaur Dhillon and Seema Antil Poonia (discus throw), Annu Rani and Shilpa Rani (javelin throw), Manju Bala Singh and Sarita Romit Singh (wire shot), Bhavna Jat and Priyanka Goswami (walking), Hima Das, Dutee Chand, Shravani Nanda, MV Jilana and NS SIMI (4x100m relay).

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments