Saturday, June 18, 2022
HomeSportsRanji Trophy: Mumbai in the final without winning the semi-final, MP did...

Ranji Trophy: Mumbai in the final without winning the semi-final, MP did amazing after 23 years

Bangalore: Two teams have been confirmed for the final match of the Ranji Trophy 2022. After defeating Bengal, Madhya Pradesh has cut the ticket for the final. Whereas the second semi-final played between Mumbai and Uttar Pradesh ended in a draw. In this, Mumbai got a place in the final on the basis of first innings lead. The final match of this 38-team tournament will be played from June 22 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore.

1st semi-final: Madhya Pradesh vs Bengal
Madhya Pradesh had scored 341 in its first innings and 281 in the second innings. In the first innings, the team of Bengal (MP vs Bengal) could only score 273 runs. Bengal had a target of 350 runs in the final innings of the match, but on Saturday, the team’s innings was reduced to just 175 runs. With a win of 174 runs, MP’s team has reached the semi-finals of Ranji after 23 years.

Left-arm spinner Kumar Karthikeya took 5 wickets for MP. He dismissed a total of 8 batsmen for 128 runs in the match. Captain Abhinyu Iswaran scored 78 for Bengal in the second innings, but no other batsman supported him. Only four batsmen could reach double figures from him. Apart from Karthikeya, Gaurav Yadav took 3 wickets and Sarshan Jain took 2 wickets. Playing under the name of Holkar, Madhya Pradesh has won the tournament four times. The last time she became champion was in 1953.

Second Semi-Final: Mumbai vs Uttar Pradesh
41 The subsequent Ranji champions Mumbai were up against Uttar Pradesh (Mumbai Vs UP). UP didn’t even get a chance to bat in the second innings. After making 393 runs in the first innings, Mumbai restricted Uttar Pradesh to just 180 runs. In the second innings, the young Mumbai batsmen had no break with the UP bowlers. Shams Mulani (25 years) is the oldest among the top-7 batsmen of the team.

The UP bowlers did not get any success on the last day of the match. Mumbai’s run machine Sarfaraz Khan remained unbeaten on 59 and Mulani scored 51 runs. Earlier, Yashasvi Jaiswal scored 181 and Armaan Jaffer scored 127 runs. The team will play in the final for the 47th time. He last won the title in the 2015-16 season.

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments